Evacuated

I’m writing this post at 34,000 feet, somewhere high above the eastern tip of Canada right now. By the time I post this, I’ll be back with my parents in California, thinking about my next move.

To say that I’m surprised to be headed where I’m headed is an understatement; if you had told me a week ago I’d be here right now, I’d have laughed in your face. But I should have known better: If there’s one thing that I’ve had to learn over and over during my short year in Liberia, it is the idea that anything is possible… a fact that can be alternatively wonderful and terrifying depending on which side of the coin you land.

This last week the coin flip landed on “nightmare” for the Peace Corps volunteers in Liberia, Serra Leone, and Guinea. We were all pulled from our sites and sent back to America due to concerns surrounding the Ebola epidemic that is sweeping through the region. Technically, it wasn’t an “evacuation” per se, (they’re calling it “scaling down” or “pulling back”) since Peace Corps fully expects us to be able to go back in a couple months. I’m not so optimistic. But maybe I shouldn’t be so negative… “anything can happen”, right?

The whole operation was completely unprecedented for Peace Corps. In Peace Corps’ history, this is the most countries evacuated at once, the most volunteers evacuated at once, and the first time an evacuation has been ordered due to a medical concern instead of an outbreak of violence in a country. Somehow, it’s satisfying to know we set a few records.

We were told the decision to evacuate came as a result of a number of recent developments in the Ebola problem — from what I understand, the straw breaking the camel’s back being that two volunteers in Liberia were exposed to the virus. (These volunteers are still in quarantine in Liberia but thankfully not exhibiting any symptoms of the illness). Again, Peace Corps fully expects we’ll go back to Liberia. They also emphasized that our “pulling back” was just precautionary: there was no immediate emergency.

As is typical, media reports surrounding the outbreak (and Peace Corps’ decision to put their posts on hold) are often sensationalist and misleading. While it is true that the virus is highly contagious and very deadly (death rates in epidemics can be 50%-90%), my danger of actually contracting Ebola was always really low.

Ebola is only transmitted through two ways: through infected bushmeat and from the body fluids of someone gravely ill. This means if you avoid bushmeat and are not a caretaker of sick people, your likelihood of being exposed to the virus is very low. The fact that we had two volunteers exposed was sort of a freak occurrence. Again, “anything is possible”… which is why Peace Corps took us out of that situation.

Really, with medical capacity and an educated public (that reports all possible cases), Ebola is easy to control. That’s why people aren’t afraid of an outbreak in America. Even if an Ebola-positive person made it to America, it would be stopped in its tracks by the CDC. In Liberia, by contrast, an absence of medical capacity combined with a “perfect storm” of cultural, educational, and historical factors are making it difficult to stop the spread of the virus. I’ll be talking more about this in a future post.

The Liberian reaction to our departure is one of shock, fear, and sadness. It’s especially scary for people because the last time the Peace Corps left it signaled the start of a sort of apocalypse for the country. People are wondering if this will be the start of another. It’s heartbreaking. As one of my top students said, “But with you people leaving it’s like we’re going to have to start from the beginning! Liberia doesn’t have time for that! We were just starting to recover. This Ebola destroys everything.”

It was difficult to leave my site. I had 24 hours to pack my things and say my goodbyes. Culturally, Liberians don’t rush anything, so the 24 hours was hard on all of us.

So that’s it for now. Even though I wish I were still in Liberia, it’ll be nice to see friends and family again. Please extend your grace to me as I re-adapt to American culture.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Evacuated

  1. shoreacres says:

    I’m so glad to see your post, and I’m so sorry for the circumstances of your departure. I hope it’s temporary. I’ve been following events closely. Even though it’s been decades since I spent my time in Liberia, at Phebe Hospital and in Gbarnga, I consider those years some of the best of my life. It’s quite something to see Walter Gwenigale Minister of Health now — he was fairly new at Phebe when I arrived.

    I got to Liberia the year after Esther Bacon, a nurse who served in ZorZor, died of Lassa fever. I’ve eaten fruit bat — though I didn’t set out to do so! — and I’ve experienced the sorts of things you mention that make dealing with Ebola so much different, and so much more difficult, in the Liberian context. To put it charitably, the American media hasn’t a clue.

    My current post is focused on Alfred Sirleaf’s Daily Talk in Monrovia, and his important role in communicating information about the disease. You might enjoy the video that’s included, in case you haven’t seen it.

    Thanks again for the post. I’ve been thinking about you, and wondering what was up.

    ~ Linda

  2. Bessie Mulabah says:

    It was a pleasure meeting you and your class during summer school.Thanks for all your effort ,love and respect you showed.
    We do pray that God will heal our land.

    Mrs. Mulabah

  3. Carol says:

    God has unexpected turns and twists in our adventure here. We’ll have to get together before your next move – welcome back!

  4. Carole says:

    Welcome Home, Kyle; altho Home to you may seem more like Liberia just now. I’m praying for you. I prayed you’d get safely back to the U.S., and you did, so that’s encouraging. Thanks for the report you give us. Helps us to be informed. Samaritan’s Purse mailed out something about the doctors and nurses they have sent to Liberia to work with those with the virus.

    May God continue to be with you!

    Carole

  5. Andy says:

    Hey Kyle, Just ran across your bookmarked blog and I’m glad to see that all is well. Recharge while you’re home and prepare as best you can for what life has next for you! 🙂
    -Andy

Leave a Reply

