Kyle plays the Cricket Dance in Liberia

The cook staff wanted me to play some more violin for them before I left for my site. I randomly chose Mark O’Connor’s “Cricket Dance”. Looking back on this choice, I was struck by it’s significance. Mark O’Connor is famous for his fusion of traditional American fiddle music with classical music. My musical background is mixed too. I grew up in the classical world, have have since branched out into other styles. And now I have the honor of sharing those parts of me with my new friends here in Africa — and the opportunity to discover more pieces as I start to explore the music here.

Video | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Kyle plays the Cricket Dance in Liberia

  1. Erin P says:

    Kyle, I’m so happy for you on your journey right now. this video brought tears to my eyes!!!

Leave a Reply

